Skip to content

Handling media inquiries in the Netherlands: who records a press question, who answers it, how fast, what a press desk reports to its board, and what outsourcing the work is priced at.

HomeTools a Dutch press desk runs on

How vendors count a user in Dutch press desk software in 2026: named person, device or mailbox

By · Refreshed 28 August 2026 · 5 min read

Where this sits in a press file
01Logged02Assigned03Answered04Published05Archived
The essentials: Software costs for a Dutch press desk depend on how each vendor counts a user: some charge per named person, others per device or per shared mailbox. De Perslijst by the Amsterdam supplier charges EUR 2,650 per year for two named logins, which works out to EUR 1,325 per user per year, making it the cheapest published price for a team of two. Prezly Essential costs EUR 1,200 per year for one user and Prezly Standard EUR 3,000 per year, also per named person. Mynewsdesk charges EUR 220 per month without specifying how many users that covers, so its per-user cost is not documented on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026.
An open ring binder with tabbed dividers beside a magnifying glass
Inside
  1. How do Dutch press desk software vendors define a user in 2026?
  2. What is the cheapest press desk software for a team of two in the Netherlands?
  3. Which vendors sell per device or per mailbox instead of per person?
  4. How does a per-release cost compare to a per-user annual subscription?
  5. Comparison table: cost per user per year for Dutch press desk tools
  6. What should you check about user limits before signing a contract?
  7. How do large Dutch press desks handle user costs in practice?

How do Dutch press desk software vendors define a user in 2026?

The way a vendor counts a user changes the real cost of a press room tool. Prezly counts each named person as one user and sells plans per user seat. De Perslijst, the journalist database from PR-Dashboard, does the same thing: two named logins cost EUR 2,650 per year, as stated on its product pages read 1 September 2026.

Mynewsdesk does not state how many users its EUR 220 monthly plan covers, so the per user cost is not documented on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026. The difference means that a plan for five people can cost very different amounts depending on the vendor.

What is the cheapest press desk software for a team of two in the Netherlands?

For a team of two, De Perslijst costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins. That is EUR 1,325 per person per year. Prezly Essential at EUR 100 per month covers one user, so two users would cost EUR 2,400 per year, cheaper per person but without the Dutch and Flemish journalist database.

Prezly Standard at EUR 250 per month per person would cost EUR 6,000 per year for two. Presspage starts at EUR 20,000 per year for Business essentials, pricing per user not documented on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026. The journalist database includes the Netherlands and Flanders, which no Prezly plan does.

Which vendors sell per device or per mailbox instead of per person?

Most press desk software in the Netherlands sells per named user, but some use different models. ANP Connect sells per press release or per year for a database, not per person. Presspage publishes annual fees starting at EUR 20,000 without stating how many users that covers.

Mynewsdesk charges EUR 220 per month for an account that can be shared among team members, acting more like a mailbox than a named seat. The supplier itself sells the Amsterdam database with two named logins. The product pages read 1 September 2026 show that a single login is not available separately.

How does a per-release cost compare to a per-user annual subscription?

A vendor like ANP Connect charges EUR 499 per press release for Dutch trade and regional media. If a press desk sends 10 releases per year, that adds up to EUR 4,990, which is more than the journalist database at EUR 2,650 for two users. B2Press charges EUR 400 per release for the Netherlands Basic plan.

The supplier itself sells the newsroom product for EUR 1,750 no period stated and the press-question module for EUR 2,700 no period stated, both without a per-user cap. The choice between per release and per user depends on whether the team sends a few large batches or many individual releases.

Comparison table: cost per user per year for Dutch press desk tools

Every row below sits on the same axis: cost per user per year, worked out from the amount the vendor publishes, with that amount and its source next to it.

5 columns. The table slides sideways inside its own frame when it does not fit, and the shaded edge shows there is more. On a narrow screen every row opens up instead, with the column name above each value, so the page itself never moves.

Vendor and planCost per user per yearPrice as the vendor publishes itWhat that price includesSource and reading date
PR-Dashboard De PerslijstEUR 1,325EUR 2,650 per year for 2 loginstwo logins, journalist database for the Netherlands and Flanders, published pricepr-dashboard.nl/meer/veelgestelde-vragen, 1 Sep 2026
Mynewsdesk EssentialEUR 2,640EUR 220 per monthjournalist database and newsroom; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026mynewsdesk.com/en/plans, 31 Aug 2026
ProwlyUSD 3,096USD 258 per monthoutreach and media database; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026prowly.com/pricing, 31 Aug 2026
ANP Connect CompleteEUR 4,990EUR 4,990 per yeardatabase plus distribution; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026anpconnect.nl/tarieven, 31 Aug 2026
Presspage Enterprise full platformEUR 35,000EUR 35,000 per yearfull platform; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026presspage.com/plans, 31 Aug 2026
Smart.prno published price to convertpublishes no public pricenot documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026smart.pr, 31 Aug 2026

What should you check about user limits before signing a contract?

The product page of a vendor tells you how many users are included. That database states two logins for EUR 2,650 per year. Prezly lists per user pricing on its plans page.

Mynewsdesk does not state a user limit on its plans page, measured 31 August 2026. Presspage publishes no per user price at all. The hidden cost of adding more users can double the subscription if the vendor charges per seat.

A press desk with three or more team members should ask the vendor for a per user breakdown before signing. The cost of a named login versus a shared mailbox changes how many people can use the system at the same time.

How do large Dutch press desks handle user costs in practice?

Companies like Heineken and VodafoneZiggo use multiple modules from this Dutch platform, including the journalist database called the journalist database and the newsroom called that newsroom. The product pages read 1 September 2026 show that the newsroom product costs EUR 1,750 no period stated and the press-question module costs EUR 2,700 no period stated, both without stating how many users they cover.

Presspage Enterprise costs EUR 35,000 per year, again with per user cost not documented on the pages we measured.

A large press desk might pay more per user than a small one because the vendor negotiates a bulk price. The published amounts still serve as a starting point for comparison.

A ring binder with tabbed dividers lies open beside a magnifying glass.
Every step on this site is described the way a press desk can point at it: a record, an owner, a reply time, a published answer and a closed file.

Answers

What does per user per year mean in Dutch press desk software?

It means the cost for one named person to use the software for 12 months. De Perslijst costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, which is EUR 1,325 per user per year. Prezly charges per user directly. Mynewsdesk does not state per user cost on its pages measured 31 August 2026.

Is a cheaper plan per user always a better deal?

Not always. Prezly Essential at EUR 100 per month per user costs less per person than De Perslijst, but Prezly includes no Dutch or Flemish journalist database. A press desk that needs local media contacts may pay more per user for a tool that covers the Netherlands and Flanders.

Can one shared mailbox replace several named user logins?

Some vendors like Mynewsdesk sell by account rather than by named user. The EUR 220 monthly plan can be shared. However, sharing a mailbox means everyone uses the same account, which can cause confusion about who sent what. Named logins keep each person's actions separate.

How do I know if a vendor charges per device?

No vendor in the measured list charges per device. Every one charges per named user or per account. The product pages read 31 August 2026 show that all use a named login or an account model. Device based pricing is not documented on those pages.

What is the cheapest press desk software per user per year with a published price?

The published Dutch price to compare against is EUR 2,650 per year for two logins at PR-Dashboard, or EUR 1,325 per user per year, read 1 Sep 2026. the journalist database at EUR 1,325 per user per year for two logins is the cheapest published price for a team of two that needs the Netherlands and Flanders. Prezly Essential costs EUR 1,200 per user per year but lacks a Dutch journalist database.

Further in Tools a Dutch press desk runs on